Abney Park Cemetery covers 32 acres and was opened in 1840, it was
entirely unique for it's time as it was expressly a place for
non-conformists (persons who rejected the ceremonial and liturgy of the
Church of England, instead worshiping in Methodist, Baptist,
Congregationalists, Wesleyan and other chapels; the Quakers and
Salvationists are similar groups).
The ornamental ironwork,
along an Egyptian theme, over the Church Street entrance came from the
entrance to Abney House, named after Lady Mary Abney, who retired here
in the early 1700s with her daughters and their tutor and chaplain, Dr
He was a well-known dissenter, who lived in the area for many years and was famous as a composer of hymns and sermons.
hieroglyphs over the lodges read, 'The Gates of the Abode of the Mortal
Part of Man'. They have recently been complemented by a formal
courtyard fronting on to the High Street and a cobbled carriageway
leading to a sundial set in a circle of paving.
In it's day, the
cemetery eclipsed the Royal Park at Kew, with 2,500 different species
of trees and shrubs. The effect was to make Abney Park a tourist
attraction from the outset. The expansive historic park is full of
educational qualities with its many years of history.
Abney Park Cemetery
Stoke Newington High Street